One power sensor and two templates ( +/- value)

Hey there,

I’m new to HA and recently added my energy meter into my HA configuration. It works fine overall but I thought it would be nice (and is also needed for the energy dashboard) to differ between grid consumption and grid feed.

I have created a sensor that is receiving data via mqtt from the energy meter. This is the code for this one:

- sensor:
      name: "Netz"
      unique_id: "grid_power"
      state_topic: "energymeter/serialnumber/parameter"
      unit_of_measurement: "W"
      state_class: "total_increasing"
      device_class: "power"
      value_template: "{{ (value_json.0.p | float(0) + value_json.1.p | float(0) + value_json.2.p | float(0)) | round(0) }} "

The energy meter gives me one value that can be positive (consumption) or negative(feed), so nothing special about this one.

So i tried to create two template sensors, one for positive values and one for negative values. I’ve taken the code from other posts as I wasn’t able to figure out how to code it :sweat_smile:

The two template sensors are called “Netzbezug” (consumption) and “Netzeinspeisung” (feed):

- sensor:
      - name: "Netzbezug"
        state: >
          {% if states('sensor.grid_power')|float(0) >= 0 %}
            {{ states('sensor.grid_power') | float(0) }}
          {% else %}
          {% endif %}
        device_class: power
        state_class: total           

- name: "Netzeinspeisung"
        state: >
          {% if states('sensor.grid_power')|float(0) < 0 %}
            {{ -1 * states('sensor.grid_power')|float(0) }}
          {% else %}
          {% endif %}        
        device_class: power
        state_class: total 

The problem is that I’m only getting 0 as a value, even if there is consumption or feed.
I have another template sensor that is displaying the value without bothering if it’s positive or negative (this one is working fine).

Any idea why I’m not getting any value?