Plex Config Killing Qnap And Server

Hi,

This is my first time using HA and loving what I see so far but I can’t work out whats happening.

Currently whenever i put in the following:

` # Plex Setup
media_player:

• platform: plex`

It seems to refuse the connection and doesn’t allow me to connect to HA. If I then delete the above statement it starts back up.

What am I doing wrong?

I have also create an extra file called Plex.conf and have added the following code:

{"192.168.0.57:32400": {"token": "myToken"}}

I have then saved that file in the Home Assistant folder as im using it on QNAP NAS.

Thanks you so much for any advice.

Many Thanks

Mike

Try this:

{"192.168.0.57:32400": {"token": null}}

Thank you for the quick reply.

Still have the same issue im afraid.

Do you have local authentication enabled or multiple users are defined?
If so HASS requires an authentication token.

Finding your account token / X-Plex-Token.

I do have multiple users on the system and that’s the reason I used to token in the first place but still didn’t do anything. Have been on it for a while changes bit and can’t work it out.

So in:

where you have “myToken” you have the actual token from Plex? I wasn’t sure. Usually if someone is posting a config with an API key or password or something, they indicate it as [REDACTED]. As in

{"192.168.0.57:32400": {"token": "[REDACTED]"}}

Ah yes mate that’s exactly what I have unless I’m not getting the code properly but I believe I am from following the process. I’m out of ideas now

Me too, sorry. I’m sure someone else will weigh in though.

1 Like

I have several users as well; and I am not having issues. What is your setup? Just curious.

You only need a token from an admin user to see everything. You don’t need one from each user.

Here is my plex.conf for an example:
mcurry@abaddon:~/.homeassistant $ cat plex.conf
{“192.168.1.109:32400”: {“token”: “mykeywashereyoucanthas”}}