Problems with Hass.io Image files for Raspberry Pi?

hi

ok perhaps ive had too much festive Christmas wine over the last week but I am new to Home Assistant and installing this via your Hass.io image files for the Raspberry Pi. Basically I have downloaded the version for the Pi 4 and Pi 3 (both 32-bit and 64-bit) and the file downloads and extracts on my Mac. I then use BalenaEtcher to burn the IMG file to the SD card and it comes back stating the IMG file downloaded is corrupt. I tried downloading again and no luck at all. I then downloaded via my Windows Surface Pro and again if comes back with a file corruption error in BalenaEtcher. The IMG file was extracted and is showing as 2.147,483,648 in size. When downloading using my Mac the file automatically extracts to this size. For Windows I used 7Zip to extract and both are showing the same extracted file size.

Trust me I am not a numpty and I am used to burning IMG files to SD cards although I am currently sitting here thinking I must be!!

Are your versions I am trying to download are corrupt?

Don’t extract the files, just flash the archive.

OK still no luck.

Just redownloaded and tried your suggestion as the file is showing as ‘hassos_rpi4-3.7.img.gz’ and is 182,442,027 bytes in size. Note: On the Mac it automatically extracts to the larger IMG file size of 2.15 GB’s so I used my Windows Surface Pro. Burning hassos_rpi4-3.7.img.gz and comes back with File Corrupt in BalenaEtcher.

Maybe there is a issue with your broadband connection that is corrupting the files - I have seen this before. Can you download the files via another method and try that ?

I downloaded RPI4 and RPI4-64 some days ago, and now are installed and working.

Just did a test by downloading the pi4 32 bit image and flashed it to a spare card, no issues.

Use a different programme to flash the image. I assume MacOS has dd.

You shouldn’t use the compressed image, unzip it first.