Proximity documentation lacks information

The documenation of the proximity component show several problems: https://www.home-assistant.io/components/proximity/

Values “state” and “dist_to_zone” have the same explanation. No description of the following parameters: ignored_zones, tolerance, unit_of_measurement…

Can somebody with knowledge of this component update the doc?

ignored_zones seems self explanatory.

unit_of_measurement are described in line 39 of the component source.

tolerance is fairly self explanatory from the source - a change in position of less than tolerance is ignored from what I can see.

state is the same as dist_to_zone.

Now you can edit the page yourself :slight_smile:

If it were “self explanatory” I wouldn’t be asking the question. I might guess about the function but still might not be 100% sure. And I’m not a coder so digging into the code really isn’t an option. it’s one of those things open-source really is bad at: you’ve got the code so why bother with documentation?

ignored_zones: ok, you ignore a zone while defining another zone. still not sure what it’s purpose is so… doesn’t explain itself to me.
units of measurement: found the code so I will update the doc
tolerance: so this compares to the radius of a standard zone

I’ll go edit the page with the info I’ve got :wink:

1 Like

Had a look at the documentation. When I checked it on github it appears it’s already there, it’s just not shown. Not an expert in markdown so no clue why it’s not parsed correctly.

I agree, but this component’s code is pretty short and simple.

Neither do I, I’ll take a look, but not this morning - work calls.

Without a good documentation it is hard to figure out whether there is a error, bug or this is by design.

I do not see dist_to_zone attribute. There are: unit_of_measurement, friendly_name, nearest and dir_of_travel.