Publish Alexa-skill files for DIY-solutions

I believe many users would like to set up their own alexa-skill like HASS offers with a paid subscription.

I really dont want to start a discussion about the new HASS-cloud/bridge. This is the decision of the dev-team and i respect that.

Every user should be able to decide which way he would like to go. The HASS-cloud is not my way.

You can easily set up your own skills and intents already, cloud is not a requirement, lots of documentation for it.

I dont think so. For me personally its not that simple. I read a bunch of tutoraials, but was not able to accomplish that i could use “Alexa, turn on the kitchen lights” like in a “native” alexa smart home skill.

Also i am not an experienced programmer like most hass-user, i believe.

Ah, I see what you mean. I think you have to say something like ‘Alexa ask home assistant to turn on the kitchen lights’

I think with the hass cloud option it works more natively.

Thats exactly what i want to avoid!

But i believe that the HASS-team wants to “force” users to use their cloud. By “force” i mean smth. like: “you dont need to use it, its absolute optional! but we will not tell you how to do it by yourself so you have to work with some half-working solutions”

To host the skills natively requires using the Amazon AWS Lambda service which requires an aws account.

So to do what you are asking for without using the hass cloud, you would need to write the lambda functions within aws and tie your alexa smart home skills to it. Your lambda function would then send it to hass for you. This is essentially what the hass cloud is doing for you, along with other things like querying your devices and providing states and such. There is the reason why the hass cloud cost some money, because there are actual costs every time an intent is fired.