Raspi 4 with SSD vs. NUC with Docker

Hi all

Just a generic question.

I’m having a NUC i5 for some non-HA projects. Now I’m thinking to build up a Docker platform on this NUC. And to be honest I’m not that experienced with docker, have used it some times but I’m definitely not an expert yet.
Does this make sense to move my HA there or would I have to expect a loss performance? Now HA is running von a Raspi4, 4GB and with a USB3 Samsung T7 SSD and I’m quite happy with the performance.

The idea is to get rid of some of my raspi and move these to Docker images (like Pi hole, some Python envs, maybe HA and 1, 2 more).

Thank for your experiences and estimations :slight_smile:

Cheers
Marco

What OS are you planning on running on the NUC? If Windows 10, Docker containers will be unable to access USB devices directly except for hard disks.

With Debian ( on the Pi or NUC) you could run Home Assistant Supervised or Home Assistant Core with Docker.

1 Like

I’ve run HA on Oracle VirtualBox on a Windows 10 i5-based machine for some time and the performance was just fine. (Much better than my Pi3 although I hadn’t added an SSD at that point.) I’ve since upgraded to an i7 box because I also want to run Blue Iris and that’s resource intensive.
The VirtualBox setup allows you to “pass-through” USB connections to the virtual machine and it works with my ZigBee/ZWave (Nortel) stick just fine.
This is a pretty good how-to on setting up the virtual machine:
Migrate your Hass.io from a Raspberry Pi to a Windows Virtual Machine – The (thesmarthomehookup.com)
and here’s a good bit on making sure USB pass-through is enabled:
VirtualBox USB passthrough guide | Connect USB to VirtualBox (eltima.com)

1 Like

You can do it with a VirtualBox VM but not with Docker on Windows.

1 Like

Thanks all for your answers.

The NUC is runs with Ubuntu.