Reading a Text File using Command_line Sensor

Hi I am not very experienced with Hassio and as a result have used NodeRed to make up for my Hassio shortcomings. I would appreciate some help if anyone has some thoughts. I am running the latest Hassio on a VM.

I use NodeRed to write the output of my mqtt water meter to a file which is overwritten every hour. The file path in Nodered is /share/todaylog.txt. This file can be mounted on my windows pc. The text file only contains 1 line holding the current Water usage total for the day. ie 165.5.

The powershell below retrieves the value when run in powershell but when I try to incorporate it into my Yaml and add it as an Entity Card to Home Assistant it does not retrieve any values.The Card Just says unknown.
Can someone tell me what I am doing wrong?
How can I test if Hassio can access this share?

***** Lines added to my Yaml ****

- platform: command_line
  name: Todays Water Use
  command: powershell.exe -command "(gc ( gci //192.168.86.159/share/todaylog.txt - 
  recurse | sort LastWriteTime | select -last 1).fullname -tail 1)"
  unit_of_measurement: "L"
  scan_interval: 10

Never used it on Windows, so I am not sure if HA is able to find/locate Powershell. You might want to consider using the full path.

Next to that, I am wondering though why you wrote the command like you did since this gives the same result if the file only has one line:

C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\powershell.exe -command "gc //192.168.86.159/share/todaylog.txt"

in case the file has a blank line at the bottom, you might want to concider:

C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\powershell.exe -command "gc //192.168.86.159/share/todaylog.txt" -First 1

• I searched the path online by the way, yours might be located somewhere else. I don’t know.