Recovering Insteon User New to HA

Hi all. I’ve been an Insteon user for many years. I used the UD ISY-994 as my hub and was never a power user. Last year, we sold our home and moved to another state. We recently moved into our home, so I am starting fresh. I purchased an HA Blue while they were available and have it sitting in a box waiting for me to get started.

I’ve never been a power user, but I do like to tinker and am fairly tech savvy after a learning curve. I had originally intended to incorporate a new ISY and Insteon into my new home. While the UD staff and forum volunteers are great, I have become disenfranchised with the quality and availability of Insteon devices. I am leaning heavily toward building out from scratch with Z-wave. I’ve never used Z-wave before, but I did have three Schlage locks installed during the build.

To be honest, I’m a little intimidated by the power and learning curve needed for HA, but I’m willing to jump in and I know how to follow directions.

Enough preamble. Here are a couple questions to help me get started. I’m sure I’ll have many more as I get started.

1. I like the form factor of the Aeotec Z-Stick 7 Plus because of it’s compact size, but form factor certainly comes behind function. Any advice on using this Z-wave stick or suggestions for a stick popular with the community for it’s reliability and function?

2. I know the HA Blue will be the Z-wave hub once the stick is properly installed. Is it desirable to have a separate standalone hub and if so, which should be primary. I am a big fan of not overcomplicating things.

3. Any opinions on the Zooz line of Z-wave switches/dimmers. I have quite a few 3-way switches in my home, and I like how their products claim to work with conventional 3-way switches on the other end. But maybe other brands do something similar?