Script as condition (clock)?

Can you use a script in an automation to see if the clock is within the desired time?

I have several motion sensors that I currently only want to activate between 06:00-18: 00. However, it may happen that I want to adjust that time in the future, and then it would have been easier to just change one script, instead of several automations.

I am a beginner and program via UI, obviously below is wrong :sweat_smile:

Automation:

type: motion
platform: device
device_id: 7c90d2d154c3bb7635f4035460075ec6
entity_id: binary_sensor.kitchen
domain: binary_sensor

condition: state
entity_id: script.daytime
state: ''

type: turn_on
device_id: 6896cc24e2c0c53a6c4e2a4b9231feb2
entity_id: light.kitchen
domain: light
brightness_pct: 100

Script:

condition: time
after: '06:00:00'
before: '18:00:00'

Maybe you can create 2 input_datetime, then you can create a template condition.

condition:
  - condition: template
    value_template: >-
      {{ states('input_datetime_morning') <= as_timestamp(now())|timestamp_custom('%H:%M:%S') < states('input_datetime_evening') }}

The 2 input_datetime can then be reused for your other automation(s) that have the same condition. Also, you can put the input_datetime into your dashboard to be modified easily.

The following is a single automation to control a light based on a motion sensor (turn light on when there’s motion, turn it off when there’s no motion). It can be simplified if it’s acceptable to simply turn the light on without explicitly specifying a brightness_pct value. However, I retained the method you had used.

It can also be easily enhanced so that the command to turn the light on/off is not sent if the light is already on/off.

If you want to adjust the time range, just change the values in condition. The automation turns off the light when there has been no motion for 3 minutes. You can adjust that value to whatever you prefer.

alias: example 567
trigger:
- platform: state
  to: 'on'
  to: 'off'