Script works when executed manuelly, only partly called from automation

Hi!

Disclaimer: this is my first time doing scripts and blueprints.

I have a script, that when executes, sets a scene based on a counter (like multiple clicks on a button) - once done it waits 5 seconds and then resets the counter.

This works perfectly when hitting the execute button, or when calling the script from the service dev tools.

But when called through the automation, only the part before the delay works. Its sets the scene, increments the counter, but never resets the counter.

I’ve already tried formatting the delay different, with 00:00:05 etc.
I realize that I have stuff that needs to be modified in my blueprint, but I don’t think its relevant since half the script execute.

Automation:

alias: ZHA - Bedroom Dimmer
description: ''
use_blueprint:
  path: porrekaj/zha-philips-hue-dimmer-switch.yaml
  input:
    remote: 196f7f803f2bea8323dc35fcdf69ca2c
    button_1_single_press:
      - service: script.zha_bedroom_dimmer
        data: {}
    light:
      entity_id: light.master_bedroom_lights
mode: restart

Script:

alias: ZHA Bedroom Dimmer
sequence:
  - choose:
      - conditions:
          - condition: state
            entity_id: counter.zha_dimmer_bedroom
            state: '1'
        sequence:
          - service: script.lights_set_theme
            data:
              scene: nightlight
              light: light.master_bedroom_lights
          - service: counter.increment
      - conditions:
          - condition: state
            state: '2'
        sequence:
          - service: counter.increment
          - service: script.lights_set_theme
            data:
              scene: dimmed
              light: light.master_bedroom_lights
    default:
      - service: counter.reset
  - delay: '5'
  - service: counter.reset
mode: restart

In the script

Hmmm. … !
Maybe but use a delay to ensure your correct count

I’d put them in reverse order and maybe use queued

1 Like