Separate zwave2mqtt for heavy traffic sensors

Hi
I’ve got some energy meters that are flooding my zwave network, and slowing it down.
I’m looking into using the zwave2mqtt (with a separate z-wave stick that I have laying around) and feeding Home Assistant with the measured values over mqtt, whici has better capacity.
I’ll be installing it on the same NUC as Home Assistant, but in it’s own docker of course.
My plan is to use this new zwave network only for sensors/meters, i.e. mostly one-way communication.
Is this a good idea?
Or will the original zwave network still be flooded?

How often are your meters reporting?

I’m not a zwave expert but wouldn’t the two separate networks continue to operate at the same frequency?

As far as I know, zwave doesn’t offer a choice of channels (like WiFi where each channel corresponds to a slightly different frequency). Therefore even if you created ten separate zwave networks they would all contend for the same slice of the RF pie.

Yes, that’s one of my worries. But maybe the bottleneck is in the controller, and not in the radio frequency.
I don’t know, and I know of only one way to find out…

I’ve set them to defaults, i.e. report at 10% change in power, and every 10 minutes.
But they send a lot of data all of the time, and nobody can help me to get it reduced.
Of a ozw-log of 1,5 million lines, something like 60-65% were from the meters.

Which meters do you have?

Qubino 1 phase and 3 phase meters.

Case A: One controller handling 50 devices.
Case B: Five controllers handling 10 devices each.

It’s easy to assume Case B would work better because each controller has fewer devices to handle.

What’s overlooked is that all 50 devices continue to communicate on the same frequency. In other words, they continue to talk on the same channel and, obviously, they can’t successfully talk at the same time.