Should one really use HA OS mostly without mqtt?

Hello,

I’m an absolute beginner in HAOS, mqtt, esphome and had some knowledge of Linux and Arduino before. Now i learn something in HA because i would like use it for any automations.

I currently have HAOS installed with mqtt esphome and Node-red.

I would like to use it to configure and connect my ESP devices and operate them in the web frontend under Home Assistant. But the comminication between my externak ESP-devices, i would like use the mqtt-broker.

I was just explained in a German forum that Home Assistant is not normally used with mqtt because then you would have two communication systems here, HA and mqtt.

Is it really like that?

I would like to fully rely on the mgtt broker for my HA. This also has something to do with my later expandability of the system.

Is it normal that HA is only used as a front end and to operate the devices (ESP’s) and as a communication protocol mqtt?
or am I really exotic because you didn’t think of it that way?

Best regards
Achim

Without my Tasmota integrated devices :
afbeelding

There is nothing wrong with using mqtt.

2 Likes

Thank’s so much… because i thought i ttake a big misstake or i understood all wrong

You have two choices for communication with ESPHome, mqtt or the native API.

Most people choose the API because it is easy, fast and works really well. MQTT is still a valid alternative though.

The relative merits are explained here https://esphome.io/components/api.html#advantages-over-mqtt

1 Like

I’ve converted nearly everything I do to MQTT (I write custom firmware for ESP devices instead of using ESPHome).

James

1 Like

That is probably also the reason why only the api was recommended to me in the German forum.

I thought if I use mqtt for communication, I would be more independent.