I’m in the midst of trying to get a TCP tunnel into Virtual Box which will be a tty for the Insteon Integration. I prefer to shut down HA gracefully when I have to configure the VM. When I do, the shutdown “Shutting down system” appears in a black box … Much like “Restarting Home Assistant” appears when HA is restarted.
This also occurs when the system is rebooted, though the message is “Rebooting system”.
Unlike Restarting where the box is removed upon reconnection, the black box Shutting down remains.
That a browser refresh, or removing the cache from memory works is something I can agree too.
But this isn’t the intension of the toasts and IMO using this as a workaround is perfectly in the meantime, before the actual bug is fixed. Which it is imo…
i use custom, and you could be right that it’s only when using custom theme, f.ex i can’t re-authenticate in Tuya, with custom-theme, have to switch to homeassistant-default.
I guess it’s just a Browser Thing then
Close Tab or Refresh Browser, it’s a pita if it’s Causing one to Clear Cache( then i would considered it’s a bug )
Could be… I’m using Safari on MacOS, which frequently happens to have this toast-message appear twice, or does not disappear when it should.
IMO definatly a bug…
No, it’s literally your websocket disconnecting because you’ve done a shutdown, not a restart. It’s showing you the last message it received before it went bye-bye. Your browser is caching the last message - if you attempt a refresh, you’ll get nothing at all because there’s nothing to show.
@ShadowFist Thank you for illuminating that I failed to fully describe what I observed.
When one Restart Home Assistant a black banner appears with Connection lost. Reconnecting… If all goes well, after several black informational banners appear and finally, Home Assistant has started, which disappears shortly.
When one Reboot system, Rebooting system appears and then Connection lost. Reconnecting… appears below it. Again, if all goes well, after several black informational banners appear and finally, Home Assistant has started, which disappears shortly. But Rebooting system remains.
Shutdown system is only different from Reboot system in that the banner is Shutting down system instead of Rebooting system
Yes, indeed, when the system is back up, a browser refresh will remove the boxes. This is not really a problem, but someone like me may reboot or shutdown and boot. While this is happening, I may go to enjoy one of many of life’s other joys and then return to fixing HA again. But now there is the banner. Is the reboot complete? Did I forget to issue a boot command?
Me, like many others here, I fubarate HA from time to time and, in frustration, reboot the system, not just restart HA. Often, things are fixed. Also, my instance of HA runs in a virtual box. Sometimes my host OS will want to update the virtual box software, but, in order to do so, the a virtual machine can’t be running. So I shutdown.
I understand your “irritation” but don’t let such affect your heart-rate
When we Reboot/Shut-Down>Restart, as Shadowfist implies , HA totally looses connecting, and is no longer aware that You Are Still in the same View of Your Browser, it also pretty sure that HA, have No knowledge, that this “Toast-Message” is still visible in your Browser ( It simply can’t know ), as HA has “Rebooted” ,
So question is should there be a “timeout” of this particular “Boot-ShutDown” message ?.
That would be easy, But it will also causes fairly the same “annoyance” , because NO installation have the exact same Shutdown/ Reboot " cycle"
So if set to i.e 10seconds, does that mean Your(Or my) HA actually is shut Down ?
( This will just create the exact same “Issue” People will wonder, is it Done, can i unplug the cable now, or what ?, And no HA can’t send a “message” when it’s finished the shutdown , or clear/refresh the browser, before it’s at a certain stage the startup-stage )
And again, How should HA, Know that You are still in Your Previous Browser-View ?
If you haven’t Flushed Your Cache, Your HA Session is “Open” , Your don’t Need to log-in again ( That we like ), just click the link, open the tab … Convenient
While I understand your reasoning behind this, this was not the same in previous releases until 2026.8 I think.
There were subtle changes to the toast messages in that release and the way they are handled.
I was in the assumption that this had something todo with my custom theme, but now that I read about more users with the same symptoms I’ll stand corrected and am convinced that this is a true bug which should be reported.
You can reported your self, if someone already hasn’t.
Thou it could however also be that they removed the “timeout” because some people " Thought " i has Shut down, because the message " Vanished " , and they then i.e forced a reboot of their host, or unplugged the cable ( An installation with +1000 of Devices and a huge DB, + 16GB Ram, does need more time than i.e a basic, small homeassistant Green installation.
However Both are “Green” and unaware of what you do with your Browser, yes at a certain stage it refresh “Frontend”, but that message is not any longer a part of Frontend, as the Connection was lost, and Frontend is New, so the message is just “Hanging there”
PS: It’s 1 click to close the Tab, and another to open a new, if a refresh doesn’t remove it in 1 click
Note: i have “simplified” My Browser. Default start-page and new-tab is one and the same. FF’s Default Cleaned out from News, Weather, Tips, Search and other “Bullocks”
Only 4 rows of Pinned Urls and FF’s " Banner to the left.
( Search i do in the top(url)bar, as it brings me to the same Page, as any of the search-engines provides )