Smartest wat to get mqtt, when starting from zwave js

If I have a perfectly functioning zwave JS add on installed, what’s the smartest and least painless way to get the entity options and deep zwave analysis provided with mqtt?

I tried to install zwave to mqtt as well, but it seemed to conflict with zwave JS, as both wanted to access my nortek usb stick at the same time.

I understand in another tutorial that you can install zwave JS without the supervisor and perhaps this will allow “zwave JS mqtt” to work (as the supervisor?) But this requires uninstalling zwave JS and reinstalling, which worries me that I might have to readd add zwave devices and lose the device/entity names which will make me rewrite all my yaml.

It’s confusing for me that there are 3 add-ons here, zwave JS, mqtt and zwave JS to mqtt.

Appreciate the help, I’m a newb here but longtime nerd and I love this platform.

I’ll try to help you with part of it but as far as easily moving the entities moved I don’t know of an easy way using HassOS. I believe the general thought is that since the db is the same structure on both servers (zwavejs and zwavejs2mqtt) HA should pick up all the devices from the new zwavejs server and match them up to the existing entities from the old zwavejs server.

However you will still need to re-pair all of your devices to the new zwavejs2mqtt server. I don’t think there is any way around that in HassOS.

as far as the other questions/confusion…

there are a few ways to actually get a zwavejs server onto a HA system - adding it directly onto the host OS (not possible in HassOS), adding thru a standalone docker image (zwavejs2mqtt only), adding thru the zwavejs add-on and adding thru the zwavejs2mqtt add-on.

Then once you get a zwavejs server added to your system in one of the ways above then you need to add the zwavejs integration so that HA can communicate to the zwavejs server.