Solved: How I got my zwave to work using a HUSBZB-1 usb stick with Hass in a Windows 10 Hyper-V Guest

I’m new to Home Assistant and Home Automation. I was using OpenHab for awhile but decided to try Home Assistant too. I started out by installing Hass (Home Assistant) in Windows 10 using Python for Windows. I generally followed this guide to install it: https://www.home-assistant.io/docs/installation/windows/

The install went pretty smooth and quick and I had a Hass server up and running in no time. Happily I plugged in my HUSBZB-1 usb stick to add my zwave network. That’s when things went to hell in a handbasket. No matter what I did, I just couldn’t get zwave installed. I kept getting an error that the homeassistant-pyozw package couldn’t install because WINDOWSSDKVERSION was not found.

Very frustrated, even though I’m a linux moron, I decided to give the linux version a try, because Home Assistant seems to be linux centric. Still frustrated, I went about setting up a Debian 10
version of linux in a Windows 10 Hyper-V Guest machine. That went well, so I installed Hass (Home Assistant) on it generally using this guide: https://www.home-assistant.io/docs/installation/raspberry-pi/

Though thoroughly confused by what hass.io, hassbian, hass, homeassistant, rasberry pi was all about, I muddled through it and got a version a Hass server up and running on Debian in my little Hyper-V VM.

After much research to figure out how to install my zwave usb stick, I determined my Debian had no USB ports available. Excuse my language but WTF???

So miffed, I did a bunch more research trying to figure out my problem. I finally figured out that Hyper-V is a level 1 hypervisor and as such its not possible to use any of the Hosts hardware. Damn, that’s exactly where my zwave usb is located.