Temp/Humid sensors to start with

Hi, i’m new to HA and Smart-Home, but have electronics background. After installing HA on a RP4 in my home network, i want to log about 10-15 positions in my house, starting from my central heating (Gas powered) up to rooms and radiators.

Before i start to build something from scratch, i wonder what would be the most efficient way to do this? As the measure points should be variable, it would be great if they can be radio controlled (Wifi, Zigbee, DECT, whatever), battery powered and have sensors with about 1-2 m cable.

Temperature range? Does it have to have a cable?

Wireless sensor tags?

Some motion sensors also do temperature (Philips Hue).

The sensors i’m looking for are for indoor use only, measuring the heating parameters. So from 10-100° Celsius, but operate in 20-70°.

I also want to have some precise results, at least 0,5° but better 0,1° resolution. Don’t know if the cheap ones can deliver this?

Hi holi,

I am in the process of developing for myself some wireless WiFi temp/humidity sensors to monitor some rooms at home. At the moment I’m waiting for some parts to arrive, to continue with development.

Some infos:

ESP8266 ESP12-F boards without USB!
(boards with USB controller pull to much current even in deep sleep)
Flashed with Tasmota
SHT30 Sensor (0.2°C temp resolution, range is -40 - 125°C)
Data connection between Sensor and HomeAssistant with MQTT.
Batterypowered with one 6500mAh LiFePO4.
Logging intervall 20min, with deep sleep in between.
Estimated runtime with one battery about 180 days!
cost for esp, sensor and battery is about 15 euros.

HomeAssistant logs temperature, humidity, dew point and battery voltage
So if battery voltage gets low, I can get alarm to replace battery.

As soon as I have the missing parts, I can do further development and testing.