Thermostat without a thermostat

Hey all,
Newbie here.
Ik have a temp sensor and two smart valve heater thingies.
I wanna set HA so that if i press a (software) button, or say somehting, the temp in my room raises to 21 degrees, and when its 21 degrees it stays there.
I dont have a centra thermostat to do this offcourse :wink:
Any pointers ? Can i use a blueprint for this ?

Greetings
G

There are plenty of posts on virtual thermostats… HA itself come with this
Generic Thermostat - Home Assistant (home-assistant.io)

1 Like

Cool tnx !

Hey, i dont have addons, since im using the synology docker installation.
Is there any quick and easy way to do what i asked ? Like a blueprint i can download ?
Im new to this and the generic thermostat page is a little over my head

I am afraid I cannot help you with this, most other setups use a similar structure/setup. You can keep it simple though and add complexity after

climate:
  - platform: generic_thermostat
    name: whateverroom
    heater: switch.whateverroom_heater
    target_sensor: sensor.hwateverroom_temperature
    min_temp: 15
    max_temp: 25
    target_temp: 20
    tolerance: 0.5
    min_cycle_duration:
      seconds: 120

Tnx @ Dont have a clue what to do with it, but ill try and figure it out !\

Cheers !
G

So, in essence it is very simple…
it uses a

1. a temp sensor (target_sensor as this is what you measure to get to)
  2. based on min/max and temp… trigger a switch (heater) that does warms up the place
    3 The tolerance is that it triggers 0.5 before or 0.5 after target temp, i.e. if your room shows a delay this may be handy
  3. cycle is how long the heater is on, there are heaters that may take time to heat or can be damaged if it switches on (say) very 10s…example: if the target temp is reached and it should (!) switch off, if the cycle duration has not been reached…it will not switch off until then