Two different Aqara H1EUs appear to be unresponsive

Hello people! First post here and I am very new to all this so please be gentle :laughing:

I recently got 2x Aqara H1EUs no neutral, also known as Xiaomi WS-EUK01. I am running zigbee2mqtt and I made a simple test circuit with a bulb in order to test the switch. I pressed the button continuously for a few seconds and the device paired to my zigbee network without any issues. I then started testing the device and everything was going well. I also checked the ‘decouple’ expose, this decouples the front switch with the internal relay so they can be used for different functions. This is the reason I 've chosen these (expensive) switches.

After a couple of hours I started getting timeout errors at zigbee2mqtt. The switch became completely unresponsive from this time onwards. It was constantly ON and the front button would do nothing, not even reset the device. I tried deleting it from mqtt but I got another error so I force deleted it. I then tried to reset it again but the switch did nothing. I tried stopping zigbee2mqtt just to see if the switch would behave differently if it could not find the network but the behaviour was the same.

I thought that I somehow bricked the device despite the fact I wouldn’t see how. So I thought trying the second switch. Upon powering it up it seemed to behave normally but literally a few seconds later it had the exact same behaviour as the first switch. I didn’t even had the time to put zigbee2mqtt in discovery mode.

That may sound like a stupid question but is there a possibility that somehow zigbee2mqtt passed a troublesome configuration to the second switch even without pairing with it?

I really don’t get what’s happening. The only logical conclusion would be that somehow the device got unresponsive while being in ‘detached’ state and it now won’t reset because the front switch is detached but I find it hard to believe that they would design the thing in such a way.