Unable to make SSD image of HASSIO install

Hi All, first time poster :slight_smile:

So, I’ve been using HA as a docker image on Raspberry Pi OS for a year or so and decided to take the plunge to move to HASSIO. Well, it’s been a journey of discovery, I’ve solved almost all of the issues this caused me (except for being unable to run Python code to keep my Watchdog Timer UPS happy) but I’m left with a biggie.

I don’t trust backups, plus they leave you with a less than simple route to restoring your full system.

Up to now I’ve been taking full image copies of the SSD (over USB) I’m running on by plugging into a Windows machine and using a freebie tool.

This no longer works as I cannot mount the entire drive or even see all of the partitions now I’m running the Supervised HA.

I’ve tried mounting the full drive in Raspberry Pi Desktop running in a VM but PiOS is unable to mount the full drive and gives me errors (I may be attempting the impossible here as I’m a relative Linux newbie dumbie). I can see most of the partitions, I believe, individually but not as one disk, so cloning the drive to an image is not possible.

Does anyone use this method to backup their install and, if so, what process do you use?

Pretty please?

Many thanks, hoping there is a like-minded soul out there.

Paul

I really like this. Its easy and effective.

but I see this in your comments:

I’ve recovered numerous times from it. Not sure why you don’t trust this method?

You can take the SSD and use dd to copy the entire disk though. but that is pretty rough and manual.

Thanks for the reply.

I don’t mind rough and manual because the result is an exact copy of my SSD, which leaves me the option to quickly restore to a new SSD and boot up again in short order, I don’t mind having to use normal backups then to update the database if it’s a bit old but at least my config and subsystems will all be present.