Unifi presence detection only works with multiple devices connected?

Hi everbody, I’m quite new to Home Assitant (running for a week now), impressive stuff!
I’m completely puzzled by the UniFi AP integration for presence detection though.

My configuration:

device_tracker:
  - platform: unifi_direct
    host: 192.168.X.XX
    username: USER
    password: PASS
    interval_seconds: 10
    consider_home: 180
    new_device_defaults:
      track_new_devices: true

So I noticed during the week that presence detection seemed a bit buggy now and then. Yesterday I came home after being away for more then 10 hours, finding out Home Assistant thought I was home all day. So I decided to take a closer look.

After a reboot of Home Assistant it seemed to work again, but when testing later that evening, it turned out it stopped working again. I have 3 devices connected to my WiFi on a regular basis: My PC, my Laptop and my Phone. The Phone is used for presence detection for my user.

During my test last night:

• Laptop away, PC away, Phone home.
  • Disconnected WiFi on my phone > after 1h it still showed home
  • Turned on PC > after 30m it still showed away
  • Turned on Laptop > within seconds it showed my laptop at home, PC at home and after 3m phone away??

Then I switched WiFi on and off on my PC and Phone a few times, Home Assistant registered it every time. But as soon as I turned off my laptop, the presence detection completely stopped working again.

This morning, I decided to try it again in the same way, thinking somehow my laptop was the key. So:

• Turned off WiFi on my phone (only connected device) > nothing happens, for several hours
  • Turned on my PC > within seconds PC showed up as home, 3 minutes later Phone switched to away.
  • Turned on WiFi on phone again > Phone registered home
  • Turned off WiFi on PC > PC registered away after 3 minutes
  • Turned off WiFi on Phone > nothing happens