Use value of MQTT payload to set HVAC mode

I am very new to Home Assistant and MQTT. I have a node-red application that I am setting up to manage a thermostat that is in Home Assistant. Node-red is publishing and MQTT message with the HVAC_mode setting. I have created an automation to change the thermostat mode when triggered by a change in the MQTT message. I am trying to set the HVAC_mode based on the payload of the message (off, cool, heat). When I save the code, I get an error that complains that the mode only wants the literal settings for the mode. How do I express this programatically, based on the message. Here is what I have tried. It doesn’t work.

alias: Front Tstat Mode
  description: ''
  trigger:
  - platform: mqtt
    topic: home/front_tstat/mode
  action:
  - device_id: 78daf49102bbbd7db898a7df3443274e
    domain: climate
    entity_id: climate.t6_pro_z_wave_programmable_thermostat
    type: set_hvac_mode
    hvac_mode: 
      name: "mqtt mode set"
      state_topic: "home/front_tstat/mode"
      qos: 0
      mode: single

Can anyone point me in the right direction to accomplish this?

I am making an assumption that the topic’s payload contains the desired hvac_mode and it is one of the supported modes (heat, cool, auto, off, etc).

trigger:
    topic: home/front_tstat/mode
  action:
  - service: climate.set_hvac_mode
    target:
    data:
      hvac_mode: "{{ trigger.payload }}"

Thanks for the response. I get errors:

Logger: homeassistant.components.automation.first_automation
Source: components/automation/__init__.py:505
Integration: Automation (documentation, issues)
First occurred: 5:02:14 PM (1 occurrences)
Last logged: 5:02:14 PM

Error while executing automation automation.first_automation: extra keys not allowed @ data['mode']
Source: helpers/script.py:1344
First occurred: 5:02:14 PM (1 occurrences)
Last logged: 5:02:14 PM