Wall Mounted Dashboard (now known as HADashboard)

I really love the stock HA UI for hand held devices both on tablets and phones, but as my eyes grow dim with age, I find it to be hard to get useful information from across a room, and also for some reason trying to hit the small links for scenes and scripts with my palsied trembling hands is difficult. And there is also the issue of all that bright light hurting my poor eyes at night …

When I was using Smart Things for my automation, there was a community project created by a user called FlorianZ (who I fully credit for the concept and initial implementation) to create a wall mounted dashboard based on Dashing - a modular and configurable control panel. I liked my Dashing panel so I have now ported it to run with Home Assistant. I have been testing it for a couple of months and it has been very solid so I figured It might be of interest to others.

This is designed to work on any tablets - I am using iPads, but various Android tablets work fine as well. If necessary the aspect ratio of the tiles can be changed to fit any screen.

I am using software called Kiosk Pro Plus to run in Kiosk mode on the iPad.

If you want to take a look, the code and installation/configuration instructions are here:

While the code is tested and solid on a Raspberry PI and should run fine on other devices I would welcome feedback on the installation piece as I wrote a lot of it from memory (see my previous comments if you want to know how good that is!).

Here is what it looks like in action - that is one page of many selectable pages - the buttons on the bottom row switch between pages.

And here’s a pic of it on my wall:

45 Likes

I like that.

PS. You can activate kiosk mode on every apple device without any software.

I had tried that a couple of times but never got a good experience out of it. That was several iOS versions ago though so maybe it is better these days.