What is the best setup with a Raspi?

Hi There,
I am totally new to Home Assistant, but very excited about all the possibilities. I have a question concerning the HW everything runs on.
I have a Raspi that I would like to use which is running hass.io at the moment. But I am not so sure if I should leave it this way as I also would like to install MQTT on it as described in the Bruh tutorial. I am more familiar with all the syntax on the Raspi and find it hard to get into resinio.
Maybe someone has a few recommendations on how to get the most out of a Raspi.

You should take a look at Hassbian. It is a custom HA version of Raspbian, that ultimately runs HA in a virtual environment. It doesn’t have the Addons you’ll find for Hass.io, but gives you the flexibility to do what you want with the Pi.

2 Likes

Thanks for the answer. That is actually what I thought. Does this mean, the behaviour of the Pi under Hassbian is like Raspbian?

I say it depends on your knowledge and your hardware. I use mostly Homematic components and have / will have a transceiver board on the RPi3. So I want the Homegear middleware to run as close to the hardware as possible for timing reasons.

That said and using Raspbian for operating system, Homegear is installed via apt directly on the RPi. The same goes for MySQL which is used by the recorder component and Nginx that is used for proxy reasons.

Because Python (Home Assistant) and NodeJS (Homebridge) bypass Raspian’s package management, I put those components in Docker containers, so they have their own, controlled environment which is not polluting the RPi host OS.

That setup works for me and matches my IT skills.

Hassbian is just Raspbian with HA pre-installed and a few extra helper scripts. You can add anything else that Raspbian will let you do.