What should I consider when buying Power Plugs for HA from amazon in EU(German)? Which one worked good for you?

Hello all,

I am new to HA and I am looking into possible power plugs for my installation.

There are a lot of options on Amazon, some with WLAN, MQTT, ZigsBee, etc.

I would ideally like to have power plugs that don’t connect to a cloud, work out of the box (don’t require reflash) and use wifi.

Technically, it would be possible for me to reflash the firmware: however, I would like to avoid it as much as possible to achieve a stable system where I have not tinkered with individual solutions without end.

Can anyone enlighten me on the general things to consider for compatibility with HA? How do I know that a device is HA capable?

For the point of no cloud connection, I would have to aim for ESPHome or Tasmota right? But both would require a (easy) flash?

And can anyone recommend Power Plugs for EU (Germany)? I would like to have some that measure the power consumption.

Would this one work like i want: SONOFF S26R2?

Is there a list of tested devices that work? Preferably not only power plugs but in general

Thank you!

When buying power plugs you should first think about networking. Will you have zigbee network or just your all devices will be on wifi ?
In my experience zigbee is much better than wifi. Wifi devices are connected to the cloud and usually beehive poorly when integrated in ha. For me much better solution is to use zigbee smart plugs with power meter. Those plugs are acting in zigbee network as routers meaning other zigbee devices can connect to it instead off coordinator. You can integrate them easily with zigbee2mqtt addon and use them in ha for energy monitoring.
You can check zigbee2mqtt site for list of supported plugs.

Thank you,

that’s a good question.
First I was thinking about using WIFI. But if Zigbee can provide a lot of different Dives types like and work better with HA, then maybe it is the better solution.