Why are my clips/recordings low quality? (mainstream)

Hi all,

So I’m new to Frigate (and programming in general, literally never done anything like this) so please be kind.

I’ve managed to get it working as an nvidia docker in Unraid. Currently my GPU isn’t being forwarded to any VM, and I’ve filled out the docker template as described in the documentation.

I’ve got it running off a single camera at the moment. Unfortunately however, it’s an Annke C800, which is a 4K model which outputs exclusively to h265 (no h264 output).

I’ve previously read that this shouldn’t be a problem unless I want to display this feed within lovelace, and I guess I’ll have to live with that - but WHY in hell are my clips/recordings looking like garbage? There’s compression artifacts everywhere.

When I stream the video straight from the RSTP feed, it looks crisp and amazing. Isn’t Frigate only supposed to be taking the raw video from the camera and not doing any processing to it? Before you ask, it’s definitely, 100% the main stream (4K). I’ve verified this by playing the exact same URL in VLC and selecting media options and seeing the resolution is 3840x2160.

Here’s my config:

mqtt:
  # Required: host name
  host: 192.168.0.20
  # Optional: port (default: shown below)
  port: 1883
  # Optional: topic prefix (default: shown below)
  # WARNING: must be unique if you are running multiple instances
  topic_prefix: frigate
  # Optional: client id (default: shown below)
  # WARNING: must be unique if you are running multiple instances
  client_id: frigate
  # Optional: user
  user: !secret
  # Optional: password
  # NOTE: Environment variables that begin with 'FRIGATE_' may be referenced in {}.
  #       eg. password: '{FRIGATE_MQTT_PASSWORD}'
  password: !secret
  # Optional: interval in seconds for publishing stats (default: shown below)
  stats_interval: 60

cameras:
  annke_cam:
    ffmpeg:
      input_args:
        - -c:v
        - hevc_cuvid
      inputs: