Why is maths in HA so hard?

First post. I’m new to HA after using Domoticz for a long time. In fact still plan to use it for some stuff via MQTT.

So first project I have is monitoring an oil tank. I have a process grabbing values and pushing to an external MQTT instance I have.

I have HA getting the value (its not JSON at present) however the damn maths I need to do is just not working correctly.

From my config:

mqtt:
  #Oil Tank Monitors
  - sensor:
      unique_id: oiltank-1
      name: "Oil Tank Air at Top"
      state_topic: "sensors/rtl_433/Oil-SonicSmart/142703594/depth_cm"
      value_template: "{{ value }}"
      unit_of_measurement: "cm"

- sensor:
      unique_id: oiltank-2
      name: "Oil Percent"
      #my tank is 120cm high, depth 180cm and width 120cm.   1cm in height is 21.6l.   Tank capacity is 2500
      value_template: "{{ (((120-(value))*21.6)//2500)*100 | int }}"
      unit_of_measurement: "%"

- sensor:
      unique_id: oiltank-3
      name: "Oil Litres"
      #value_template: "{{ 120 - (value) * 21.6 | int }}"
      value_template: "{{ (120-(value))*21.6 | int }}"
      unit_of_measurement: "L"

- sensor:
      unique_id: oiltank-4
      name: "Oil Depth Left"
      value_template: "{{ 120 - (value) | int }}"
      unit_of_measurement: "cm"

Oiltank-1 works perfectly, as does oiltank-4. The other two just dont give me back the correct values. I looked at some posts about Jinja formatting but did not make sense.

Anyone got any advice !

Thanks

Try this:
value_template: "{{ ((120-value)*21.6) | int }}"

…and this for oil tank 2
value_template: "{{ ((120-value)*21.6/25)| int }}"

1 Like

Your percentage is going to be off at the upper end if you don’t account for the 92 liter difference between the 2500 nominal value and the value reached by multiplying h*d*w.

1 Like