Zigbee2mqtt inconsistent behavior and network performance

I am relatively new to HA and have been struggling to get consistent behaviour and performance from my zigbee devices managed by HA. I have HASSIO running on an Rpi 4 with up to date versions of the OS, HA and zigbee2mqtt at the time of writing and am using a CC2531 controller with an external antenna mounted via a USB extension cable to keep it away from the RPi and other devices which would cause interference. I dont have a huge house and all my zigbee devices are all on a single floor. Most of my zigbee devices are paired with HA, but I do have 4 Hue bulbs which are not (for no reason other than they work fine as they are and I dont want to move them onto HA until I get it stable). These are paired to the Hue hub and controlled via Smartthings. I also have 2 Xiaomi Honeywell smoke detectors which are paired with SmartThings directly (no Xiaomi hub). Of the devices that are paired with HA, there are 2 smart sockets (both routers), 2 motion detectors and 3 door/window sensors (all end points). My issue is I dont seem to be able to get consistent performance or decent range on my mesh network at all. Despite the fact that I never move them, all the devices seem to randomly experience big swings in LQI, often dropping off completely only to appear back hours or days later (and not just because they have no data to send in that period). Using the zigbee2mqttassistant I see devices go from being connected fine and sending data to showing as being unresponsive for 2 weeks (having only been connected an hour ago). I have one device thatā€™s only 2 feet from the controller which will routinely report an LQI as low as 70 when Iā€™ll see 255 from a device in the next room. Today all my devices are now showing ā€œNO COMPONENTS Maybe this device is not (yet) supported by Zigbee2Mqtt?ā€ even though Iā€™ve made no changes whatsoever. Iā€™ve checked and confirmed that my home wifi channel is not overlapping with the zig