Controlling SANLight Grow room LED lights with HomeAssistant

Hi there!
I’m pretty new to Home Assistant and this is my first post here, so i already apologize for my noob questions.
I’m planning to upgrade my growroom with LED lights called SANLight EVO 5, here is the data sheet https://www.sanlight.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/07/datasheet-evo-series-neu-final.pdf
These lights can be dimmered with a magnetic dimmer or a bluetooth dimmer connected by a dimmer plug (in the datasheet you can see the spec). These dimmers are sold by the same company, the bluetooth dimmer can be connected to their phone app.
They sell also a RJ12 and a RJ45 cable adapter to connect their dimmer 3rd party controllers like GrowControl or TrolMaster.
I sent them already an email asking more information about the connectivity of the lights, and they replied me that probably the easiest way for me would be to control them with the RJ12 or RJ45 cables. They also sent me this picture of the dimming curve
Bild_2023-04-14_10-30-45

Since i’m a noob, i wanted to ask you guys how difficult it is to dim those LED lamps with HomeAssistant, if it’s a doable project for a noob and eventually if there is a way to use their BT dimmer and eventually what information i need from the manufacturer to have access to the BT.
Thanks you all in advance for the replies
Cheers

5 Likes

Hey, I read your post and would like to share my experience.
My use case is a bit different since I only had the magnet dimmer, as well as a Q-Gen2, but the dimming works exactly the same.

That meant that I was not searching for bluetooth connectivity.

I use ESPHome for custom sensors/controllers since it easily works together with home assistant via wifi.
I already had a esp8266 and found a board for controlling 0-10V:
https://wiki.dfrobot.com/SKU_DFR0971_2_Channel_I2C_0_10V_DAC_Module