Material Symbols for Home Assistant - A Material Design 3 based icon pack

Material Symbols for Home Assistant

Hey All! I wanted to share something with the community that I have been working on for a little while.

I have wanted to bring the UI design, Material Design 3 by Google, into Home Assistant, and to that end, I have been working on a number of projects to do this. I’m by no means a developer, but I do love to dabble where I can!

Without further ado, may I introduce you to Material Symbols for Home Assistant. It is a collection of 18620 Google Material Symbols files for use within Home Assistant.

This repository has a Preview Tool that can be used to assist in picking the correct the icon. This is a highly modified version of the one used/created by @Andy_Allsopp in his project hass-hue-icons.

This preview tool uses keywords to help you find icons matching your need for use for YAML configuration or UI interface. Simply type in what you are looking for and copy the icon string, starting m3s:.

Please be aware that the preview tool has a couple of issues I am working on to resolve:

• Slow searching due to large number of icons

Any help and contributions to resolve these would is greatly appreciated!

Installation

Unfortunately Material Symbols has not yet a default repository in the Home Assistant Community Store (HACS) default list yet.

However, you can, add this repository via a couple of methods:

Add HACS Custom Repository (Recommended):

To install follow the below steps:

• Open HACS (installation instructions are here).
  • Open the menu in the upper-right and select “Custom repositories”.
  • Enter the repository:
    https://github.com/beecho01/material-symbols

• Select the category “Lovelace”.
  • Select “ADD”.
  • Open your “configuration.yaml” via File editor or other means.
  • Add the following, save and restart Home Assistant.
    lovelace:
      mode: yaml
      resources: