Wanted: Replacement for electric floor heating control

Hello Home Assistant Community!

I’m new to Home Assistant in ESPHome, having installed both only a couple of days ago. So I do not really know my way around both project and their communities, yet. Hence, I’m not 100% sure which category or tags to choose for this topic.

I bought a house that came with an electric floor heating mat in the bathroom. The control unit is a Halmburger FHK-50-Plus. It consists of a temperature controller with a NTC floor sensor, a LCD display. The controller allows to program switch times and temperatures. This is the installation manual and datasheet (German only, I’m afraid).

After installing a photovoltaics system to the House I find the time-based controller logic of the floor heater to be too inflexible on its own and would like to amend the trigger with the information about the PV power surplus: The heater shall run if there is more power available as there is currently used in the house. I have my PV inverter and smartmeter integrated with Home Assistant already so all the information regarding available power surplus is already there.

Now I am looking for a (ESP or PicoW-based) solution to replace the FHK-50, that would allow me

• to read out the current temperatur from the NTC temperature sensor
  • set the target temperature
  • read out the current state of the relay
  • have enough logic in the controller to switch power to the heating mat based on a comparison between desired temperature and target temperature
  • reusing the existing 230V wiring to the controller (L/N/PE)

Replacing the NTC with some other means of temperature measurement is out of the question as the sensor is cast in the bathroom floor beneath the tiles (and measuring air temperature instead has too much delay). Luckily, the NTC resistance at various temperatures is given in the datasheet (see image above), so I guess I could calibrate an ESPHome ntc sensor with that.