433 MHz transceiver compatible usb sticks

Hello friends, I’m a newbie so I may ask wrong questions or I ask in a wrong category. Forgive me for that.

I’ve installed Home Assistant on my RPI 2, which works well so far. This means I can install Add-ons and… that’s about it.

I also have a Zigbee2MQTT usb stick attached on my RPi, but for now it does nothing, as I don’t have Zigbee sensors yet.

I do have a simple weather station, that measures temperature and humidity outside and sends the data over 433 MHz. So, I need a way to listen to my weather station. Ideally I want a simple usb stick 433 MHz transceiver I can plug into my RPi. I’ve seen an Arduino based 433 MHz transceiver, but I don’t like the naked pcb and also I don’t know how much power it consumes. Most Arduino projects are loop based, which means it polls continuously on input, instead of event based (like using interrupts). The so called sleep() function in Arduino is just a loop with a countdown counter. So, it consumes quite some energy and that’s what I try to avoid.

I’ve also seen RFXCom device, but for now it’s a bit pricy, around €/$ 100,-

Is there another cheap usb 433 MHz transceiver, you can recommend me that works well with Home Assistant?

Did you look into RTL SDR sticks?

1 Like

First thing : what weather station ?

You could check out rtl_433 : https://github.com/mverleun/RTL433-to-mqtt
There is the sonoff rf bridge, but I don’t think it works with weather stations
There is rflink, it does not need to be naked, you can buy cases for it : https://www.rflink.nl
There is this stick : https://community.openmqttgateway.com/t/a-new-off-the-shelf-433mhz-receiver-based-on-esp8266/635
And of course what you mentioned already, the RFXcom

Not yet, but that looks promising.
I just need some guidance where to start. It’s important for me that it works well with HA.
Could you provide me some good links?

RTL SDR sticks are used with RTL_433.

1 Like