A few questions

Afternoon,

I wasn’t really sure if this is the right place to post this so apologies in advance if I am wrong.

I am still learning the in’s and outs of Home Assistant and spent the last few days migrating all of my Zwave devices from another platform over to this. But I have a few questions I am hoping there is an easy answer to as I haven’t really found a definitive answer

1. In my old system we could create an automation. For this purpose lets say when triggered turns out the lights I choose in the automation. The we would make a button and link that button to that automation. Say for example at night I want to close the garage door if open, lock the front door and turn off any light in my automation. I would press the button in my app and essential put the house to sleep. In addition …

2. We also had variables which were used in automations. For example in the above automation I could create a variable that said HomeState and in that state have Awake and Sleep. So when I fire the above automation part of it may change that variable to Sleep. This was used for other automations.

Lets say my bedroom has a motion sensor that turns the lights on only after dark but if the variable HomeState is set to awake. That way when I put the house to sleep rolling over in bad won’t turn my lights on.

I am sure all of this can be accomplished in HA I am just unsure where to begin. Can anyone point me in a direction?

~Joe

In Home Assistant, a script is a sequence of actions whereas an automation defines a trigger, and an optional condition (serves as a “filter”) that executes a sequence of actions.

For your requirement, you can compose a script to "close the garage door if open, lock the front door and turn off any light " and then create a Button that, when pressed in the UI, executes the script. Obviously there a more details but that’s the gist of it.