A simple guide to fixing a rogue entity making the database grow excessively

Had a problem recently where my normally well behaved 100MB HA database leapt in size to over 1GB over a couple of weeks. No idea what was causing it so I turned to the community where there was so much information spread over several threads and hundreds of posts from lots of well-informed people – unfortunately most of it way over my head or out of date.

Thanks to this thread https://community.home-assistant.io/t/how-to-keep-your-recorder-database-size-under-control and good info from @denilsonsa, @jeedewee, @CaptTom I found and fixed my issue. Thought I’d write it down in one place in the hope it may help someone else with a similar issue save quite a bit of reading. I’m no expert but this worked for me – happy to hear about better ways.

I have a ‘vanilla’ install of Home Assistant Operating system on an RPI 4 4GB, on my status and maintenance dashboard there’s a card with the sensor.home_assistant_v2_db_size entity so I can keep an eye on how the database is changing. I’ve seen stuff about the database getting huge so am fairly ruthless about disabling entities I don’t need and excluding others from the History. Here’s the relevant bit of my configuration.yaml

recorder:
  purge_keep_days: 7
  commit_interval: 30
  exclude:
    domains:
      - automation
      - updater
      - weather
      - sun
      - light
    entity_globs:
      - sensor.hall_sensor*
      - sensor.landing_sensor*
    entities:
      - binary_sensor.hall_sensor_motion
      - binary_sensor.landing_sensor_motion

So what caused the database to grow to over 1GB? Here’s how I found out and fixed things:

Step 1 – take a look inside the database
Step 2 – find the entity or entities taking up all the space
Step 3 – Exclude them from the recorder if you don’t need their history
Step 4 – Get rid of their ’spam’ from the database
Step 5 – Reclaim the space they were using – shrink the database back down to size