Add a device manually from scratch to home assistant

I am completely new to smart homes, automation and home assistant.

I have a wifi lifx bulb. Out of the box the bulb would not be discovered on the integrations page of HA and could not be added using that route.

After this I downloaded a lifx app to my phone and connected to the bulb that way.

Once the bulb was set up using my phone, I went back to the HA integrations where it found the bulb and could add it the the HA and be controlled in HA as well.

Although I can control the bulb in HA, I have not entered anything into the configuration.yaml file.

1. Should the configuration file have information about the bulb within it?
  2. What happened when I connected the bulb to the phone that made the bulb discoverable to HA?
  3. How can I, or is it possible to add a device to HA by adding information to the configuration file?
  4. Is there resources or beginners guides to show me?

Hope this makes sense, am struggling to find the correct information.

Thanks,

Dan

That is the correct way to do it. You have to get the bulb on your network before you can see it with HA. FYI you don’t have to add the bulb to the Lifx cloud. It can be safely removed from this if you did, and you will still have control via HA.

No. Information for this is in an area not (meant to be) user editable called .storage it is an alternative system maintained set of data for discovered devices. To configure this device the correct way: check the configuration / integrations / lifx menu. That’s where you can override the name or entity_id. Do this by cliking on the light card and clicking the cog wheel icon in the card that pops up.

You added the light to your local wifi network. Before this there was no connection route from the light to HA.

Not done this way for Lifx.

Not for Lifx that I know of. You seem to have worked it out. The docs mainly cover how to interact with your light using services in automations or scripts:

1 Like