Adding Audio to MotionEye Recordings

Okay, so everyone - I’m a novice at best… I’ll do my best to fix issues that are found (PR always welcome!), but this is my first time trying to maintain anything… even if it is just a single script.

Here is the first (what I hope is) working draft of a script to add audio to MotionEye recordings. It has only been tested on continuous recording. It has not been tested on PI either… so feel free to give feedback. Basic instructions are in the repo.

I think this is something that has been highly requested for MotionEye, and although I know its a bit of a hack… if it works, it works :slight_smile: .

Cheers!
DeadEnd

4 Likes

Great work! A request for the future might be to make it, so it works with a default docker version of motioneye. Don’t know if that would be possible.

1 Like

thank you for this. So i’m running motioneye on docker.
saved the script to the config file which is mapped to /etc/motioneye
added the options.
It’s saving on motion normally
downloaded the mp4, but no sound.
no error in the docker logs.
anything else to check?
thank you again

@frits1980 I am running motioneye in Docker and using this script. It should work.
I’m not sure if there is something else I am missing though…

@juan11perez check the folder where the MP4’s are at. You should see one WAV file of the current recording being generated. If you don’t see that, then the audio recording didn’t start.

Some things to check… the script expects there to be camera-#.conf in the config folder (default is /etc/motioneye). I think older systems might have used thread-#.conf instead… if you have thread files instead of camera files that would be a problem.

Otherwise, check your camera-#.conf file and make sure these variables are there:

netcam_url
netcam_userpass

and of course this all assumes your camera has audio on the stream :slight_smile: .
After all that, you might need to use ffprobe to check the stream and see what it contains…