Adding ESP8266 devices

Hi, Im really new to Homeassistant. I must admit i am finding it hard to understand how to add devices. I have made a ESP8266 device using a NodeMCU which just turns on and off an LED. The device connects to my network and MQTT server (my homeassistant IP) I have also addivsed mqtt: into my config.

What i am not understanding is how to add this device so I can switch on and off via the homeassistant UI. Below is the tutoral i used. I know once i can do this i will be able to do relays and understand the system.

Below is the code and tutorial I used. I’d really like a hand please.

http://kookye.com/2016/12/12/remotely-control-led-with-nodemcu-through-mqtt-iot-broker/

you need to add it into HA as a switch

from there it’s as simple as adding it into groups and views.

Thanks this is the part i dont understand as you dont add in the IP of the device, i cant see how it would communicate.

It communicates over MQTT. That’s the entire purpose of using MQTT

MQTT is a publish/subscribe type protocol.

Clients, such as your light, subscribe to a topic at the broker. Other clients (such as HA) then publish messages to the broker with that topic. The broker distributes the message to all clients that have subscribed to the topic.

So both ends only communicate with the broker.

So how do i get my device to subscribe to topic? is this something that needs to be in the code of the device?

is this something that needs to be in the code of the device?

Yes. That’s exactly how it works.

Your device needs to subscribe to a topic and based on the data it receives on that topic do a thing. It also should publish it’s state out to MQTT for HA to read the state of the device as well.

99% of the work is done in the code on the device. The other 1% is connecting to the device.

Your ESP8266 device is using MQTT to publish information (e.g. publish “1” when motion is detected and “0” when not motion was detected).
You set that up in the nodemcu interface.