Addons in separate containers or through Home Assistant?

Hi HA community. I’m new to home assistant and have been using it for about a month now. My current installation is Home Assistant Supervised on a RPi4 and uses a 64 GB USB stick instead of a MicroSD. I installed it using IoT Stack. This also installs Docker, Portainer, and can also be used to install Node Red, Mosquito, and a large variety of other containerized apps.

My question is this: Is there any advantage to installing the addons outside of HA in docker containers? Is it better to just install them through HA? I like the idea of being able to use the Pi for other purposes in addition to HA, but its really not necessary as I have Linux machine also running docker and containers for other things (media server, ERP, website, etc.).

I will move to a new home in the next few months and want to go all-in with HA. I’m trying to find the best software installation solution on my RPi4. As I mentioned above, my main question is whether to keep all addons in separate containers or just install them all through HA.

Thanks!

If there is an add-on for anything you want to install then you might as well install using the add-on. The only time the non-add-on container is a benefit is if you don’t have add-ons available. The add-ons do make things easier to install because you don’t need to figure out any docker config and you end up with (almost…) the same thing in the end. the only differences might be that the add-ons might not be as up to ate as the regular container.

3 Likes

Thanks @finity. I was thinking this might be the idea, but when I found the IoTStack project, I started wondering why you would want to install all these separately and that maybe there was a benefit that I was missing. I am leaning (very much so) towards allowing Home Assistant to install and manage all the addons.