Advanced Jinja2 Templating for fun and profit

I’m working on building some templates for my use. I have a lot of Jinja2 experience, so I thought I would share some with the community to use as a cookbook of sorts.

Here’s the first. This is a template that prints the name of all device_trackers that are marked at home and not_home with proper human string formatting.

{% for device in dict(states.device_tracker|groupby('state'))['home'] %}{% if loop.last and loop.length > 1 %} and {% elif not loop.first and loop.length > 1 %}, {% endif %}{{ device.name }}{% endfor %} {% if dict(states.device_tracker|groupby('state'))['home']|length == 1 %}is{% else %}are{% endif %} at home.

{% for device in dict(states.device_tracker|groupby('state'))['not_home'] %}{% if loop.last and loop.length > 1 %} and {% elif not loop.first and loop.length > 1 %}, {% endif %}{{ device.name }}{% endfor %} {% if dict(states.device_tracker|groupby('state'))['not_home']|length == 1 %}is{% else %}are{% endif %} away.

Example output:

Robbie is at home.

Katie is away.

Breaking this template up to be a bit more readable (note that by doing this you will get funky spacing in the output!):

# Loop over devices with a state of not_home
{% for device in dict(states.device_tracker|groupby('state'))['not_home'] %}
  # If this not the last device add a comma. Otherwise, use the word "and". Don't do either if there's only 1 device
  {% if loop.last and loop.length > 1 %} and {% elif not loop.first and loop.length > 1 %}, {% endif %}
  # Print the device name
  {{ device.name }}
{% endfor %} {% if dict(states.device_tracker|groupby('state'))['not_home']|length == 1 %}is{% else %}are{% endif %} away.
# The line above will output 'is' or 'are' depending on how many devices are in the list.
12 Likes

thanks for sharing. but where do i put this code? in the configuration.yaml file? Where does the output appear? Can it shows as message in email notification?