Alarm Clock with Sonos & Philips Hue

Hi there!

I’m relatively new to Home Assistant (coming from Domoticz) and I really like HA :heart: So, this is my first post here, and I hope it will help others.

I wanted to create a combined alarm clock with Philips Hue :bulb: and Sonos :speaker: as follows:

1. I can set an alarm (time and fade in duration) in Home Assistant.
  2. At (alarm_time - fade_in_time) my bedroom’s Hue lights start to fade in until alarm_time.
  3. At alarm_time my Sonos alarm finally goes off. :alarm_clock:

With the ideas (mainly) from these resources, I managed to achieve it and it works great:

This it what it looks like:

And here’s how it’s done…

configuration.yaml

sensor:
  - platform: template
    sensors:
      alarm_clock_time:
        friendly_name: 'Alarm Time'
        icon_template: 'mdi:alarm'
        value_template: '{{ "%0.02d:%0.02d" | format(states.input_slider.alarm_clock_hour.state | int, states.input_slider.alarm_clock_minute.state | int ) }}'
      alarm_clock_fade_in_minutes:
        friendly_name: 'Fade In (Minutes)'
        icon_template: 'mdi:gradient'
        value_template: '{{ states.input_slider.alarm_clock_fade_in_minutes.state | int }}'

input_boolean:
  alarm_clock_status:
    name: Alarm Set
    icon: mdi:alarm-check
    initial: off
input_slider:
  alarm_clock_hour:
    name: Hour
    icon: mdi:timer
    initial: 6
    min: 0
    max: 23
    step: 1
  alarm_clock_minute:
    name: Minute
    initial: 30
    max: 55
    step: 5
  alarm_clock_fade_in_minutes:
    name: Fade In (Minutes)
    icon: mdi:gradient
    initial: 15
    max: 30

groups.yaml

alarm_clock:
  name: Alarm Clock
  entities:
    - input_boolean.alarm_clock_status
    - sensor.alarm_clock_time
    - input_slider.alarm_clock_hour
    - input_slider.alarm_clock_minute
    - input_slider.alarm_clock_fade_in_minutes

automations.yaml

- alias: Set Sonos Alarm
  trigger:
    - platform: state
      entity_id: input_boolean.alarm_clock_status