Alex voice control of ceiling fan remote - "turn light on" works, but "turn light off" doesn't. How to code?

Hello forum,

I’m new to HA and ESPHome, but I’ve been but I’ve been playing around with ESP modules and Alexa for a few years (using Fauxmo, etc). I’m trying to control a Hampton Bay ceiling fan light which has an RF remote, using an ESP module and ESPHome. My solution so far is to do the usual thing and control a relay with a GPIO pin. I took a Hampton Bay remote, removed the buttons, and attached the relay to the pad where the light on/off button was attached. Here is my YAML code:

esphome:
  name: ceiling-fan-light

esp8266:
  board: nodemcu

# Enable logging
logger:

# Enable Home Assistant API
api:
  encryption:
    key: "*****************************"

ota:
  password: "**************************"

wifi:
  ssid: !secret wifi_ssid
  password: !secret wifi_password

# Enable fallback hotspot (captive portal) in case wifi connection fails
  ap:
    ssid: "****************"
    password: "*****************"

captive_portal:

switch:
  - platform: gpio
    pin: 
      number: D1
      inverted: true
    icon: mdi:ceiling-fan
    name: "ceiling fan"
    id: ceiling_fan
    on_turn_on:
    - delay: 500ms
    - switch.turn_off: ceiling_fan

- platform: gpio
    pin: 
      number: D2
      inverted: true
    icon: mdi:ceiling-fan-light
    name: "ceiling light"
    id: ceiling_light 
    on_turn_on:
    - delay: 500ms
    - switch.turn_off: ceiling_light