Alexa, Tell Home Assitant to turn off tv

I’m trying to get AlexaPi to turn off my tv.

Steps taken so far.

Installed Home Assistant / secured https
Installed AlexaPi

Both installs work fine.

I then created an Alexa Skill

the intent

{
  "intents": [
    {
      "intent": "TvControlIntent",
   "slots":
  [
    {
      "name" : "Script",
      "type" : "Scripts"
    }
  ]
    }
  ]
}

WIth a slot called turn off tv.

my config file is

alexa:
  intents:
    TvControlIntent:
      action:
        service: shell_command.pi
        data_template:
          entity_id: {{ Action }}
      speech:
        type: plaintext
        text: OK

If i call it from the test tab on Amazon dev site, it executes fine and runs the command.

If i say something like, Alexa ask home assistant to turn off tv. it won’t work. I’ve never used any of this before and i’ve done my best to google, some help would be appreciated guys.

Cheers.

May be a dumb question, but what is your invocation name for the skill?

Hey raymiec!

In your alexa yaml on home assistant, the entity id should probably be {{ Script }}

Also note that home assistant doesn’t like spaces in script names, but alexa loves them, so you may need to do a | replace(" ", “_”) to convert it to underscores. If you have any underscores in your script names that is

I just called it home assistant, then i tried assistant

just tried makes no difference, in the amazon test console it works and executes my shell command, it just seems like alexa wont recognise the skill.

I think @CommonBlob has hit on something there. If you scripts have space in them, that may be one of the major issues. This thread would be a good guideline on how to handle that; just replace scenes with scripts.

Does she respond at all?

sometimes no, other times responds with can;t find that skill etc. its actually just a shell command that im trying to run, shell_command: