Almond: How?

Total noob trying to set up Almond voice assistant in Home Assistant.
I installed it and plugged in my USB microphone/speaker. But I have no idea what to do next. The videos I’ve watched seem to indicate its just magic and works. I don’t see a microphone or speaker entitie and everything I click on in the Almond page seems to want to go to stanford . I thought Almond was local only?
So here are my issues:
How do I install a USB microphone/speaker?
Which USB microphone speakers are supported?
Mine is a Depusheng
Is there any detailed documentation on how to set this up since just plugging it in doesn’t work?
Is it really all local or does it require ‘cloud’ access to stanford in order to work at all?

Thanks!

I rebooted the Pi and got “BY Y02 Analog Stereo” listed in Input and Output under Configuration.
The Almond log shows this:

[s6-init] ensuring user provided files have correct perms...exited 0.
[fix-attrs.d] applying ownership & permissions fixes...
[fix-attrs.d] done.
[cont-init.d] executing container initialization scripts...
[cont-init.d] done.
[services.d] starting services
[services.d] done.
2022/01/02 05:59:40 [notice] 205#205: using the "epoll" event method
2022/01/02 05:59:40 [notice] 205#205: nginx/1.14.2
2022/01/02 05:59:40 [notice] 205#205: OS: Linux 5.10.63-v8
2022/01/02 05:59:40 [notice] 205#205: getrlimit(RLIMIT_NOFILE): 1048576:1048576
2022/01/02 05:59:40 [notice] 205#205: start worker processes
2022/01/02 05:59:40 [notice] 205#205: start worker process 235
2022/01/02 05:59:46 [error] 235#235: *1 connect() failed (111: Connection refused) while connecting to upstream, client: 172.30.32.2, server: _, request: "GET / HTTP/1.1", upstream: "http://127.0.0.1:3000/", host: "hassio.asgard:8123", referrer: "http://hassio.asgard:8123/core_almond"