Android TV - Turn on at time

Hi all, I am very new to Home Assistant and am just running my first setup.

I am testing HA at work and have 4 Android TV’s

As my first automation, which I thought would be simple, I wanted to turn the TV’s on at a certain time and turn them off again at a later time.

Turning off I have managed after a little messing about, but turning them on again is proving problematic.

I have the following two automations:

turning off:

• id: ‘1650386802740’

alias: turn off TV

description: ‘’

trigger:

• platform: time

at: ‘18:12:00’

condition:

• condition: time

weekday:

• mon

• tue

• wed

• thu

• fri

action:

• service: media_player.turn_off

data: {}

target:

device_id: 0f6a6a38966ddeaddd3159426d0392fd

mode: single

and turning off:

• id: ‘1650386225577’

alias: Turn on Tv @ 7:59

description: ‘’

trigger:

• platform: time

at: ‘18:14:00’

condition:

• condition: time

weekday:

• mon

• tue

• wed

• thu

• fri

action:

• service: wake_on_lan.send_magic_packet

data:

mac: “d4-ab-cd-87-37-ee”

broadcast_address: ‘192.168.69.115’

Ignore the times, this was just me testing certain things.

The Wake On LAN seems to work sometimes and not others.

I then tried the Services in Developer tools with the following:

service: wake_on_lan.send_magic_packet
data:
mac: d4:ab:cd:87:37:ee

Again this seemed to work occasionally, but most times not.

am I missing something?

The TV’s are TCL 43ep658 Android TV’s and I am running HA on a desktop PC, using Debian.

Firstly can you reformat your yaml using the </> button so we can see it properly?

If media_player.turn_off works then what happens when you use media_player.turn_on?

Hi OzGav, thanks for your reply.

Sorry I did try the code block, but the forum gave me some error and I put it in quotes instead:

- id: '1650386225577'

alias: Turn on Tv @ 7:59

description: ''

trigger:

- platform: time

at: '18:14:00'

condition:

- condition: time

weekday:

- mon

- tue

- wed

- thu