Any other Smarththings+mqtt+hass users

Just checking to see how many of us are out there. I recently added amazon echo and have been playing with the skills example. I am able to get it to send mqtt message and update my smartthing devices for things not support with echo+smartthings out of the box. Like setting and changing modes on my thermostat and building a report of what is going on in the house.

Pretty cool stuff.

I have a Smarthings hub, and one of their multi-sensors, but have yet to actually play with it. I intended to use it exclusively, but had a Raspberry Pi laying around, and instead went the HASS route.

Can I ask what your experience has been with Smarthings + MQTT + HASS has been like? Also, I’m trying to understand if there is any advantage to setting up my Smarthings hub. From what I can tell, all my ZWave devices seem to work in HASS…

I started with smartthings first. I have had hub v1 since July of 2015. Since I am a programmer I have done a lot with it. But I never liked the phone app or the presence detectors.

I started playing with Hass this summer and was planning to get a zwave USB device for it and move most of my device to hass. Not all of them are z-wave though

I am a programmer and I like to tinker both ST and hass allows me to tinker.

I also started building my own devices with arduino compatible nodemcu boards , I built a sprinkler and a garage door opener and since they are wifi enabled I got them to work with hass. When I discover mqtt, I did a reinstall of hass with the AIO on a new raspberry Pi and began building a mqtt based hass system. Eventual getting my thermostats , lights switches and door contacts all in hass with mqtt. The hass iTunes module handle presence and its better than ST because Gives me specific location with zones,