Apcupsd on Proxmox & Hassio

Hello,

I am new to HA, my current home automation is migrating to HA.
My config is an Intel NUC with Proxmox and hassio runs in one of the virtual machines.

I have an APC UPS in the power supply, I want that, just like I now monitor all with apcupsd, and if the battery voltage is too low I naturally want the nuc to be switched off.
for Proxmox that is no problem, proxmox also switches the virtual machines off etc.
But then I have to run apcupsd in proxmox.

Now I am wondering if I can also run apcupsd in hassio with the same usb connection, or are there other solutions?

Thanks in advance for thinking along and your advice.

1 Like

You can simply install apcupsd on your Proxmox node and configure it to be reachable over the network. Configure HASS to use that particular host/port and you’re all set.

I’ve been using it like this for about 2 years now and it’s working like a charm :slight_smile:

@syphernl
That sounds great!

I am going to try that !

Thanks!

It is working!!

Thank you!

Awesome, glad to hear you got it to work! :slight_smile:

Hello, sorry to ask…

Would you mind one of you @syphernl or @dzjr detail me the solution ?

I have a HassOS+hassio on a VM on a Proxmox and I just bought an APC UPS and I am new to UPS stuff.

I don’t know how to “configure apcupsd to be reachable over the network” and I don’t know how to “configure HASS to use that particular host/port”.

Thanks !

It’s actually pretty easy:

Run this on your Proxmox node:

sudo apt install apcupsd

Edit /etc/default/apcupsd and set ISCONFIGURED=yes

Start APCupsd if it is not running already
/etc/init.d/apcupsd start

Verify that it works with `apcaccess.

Follow the instructions on the apcupsd integration page. For HASSIO it seems there is an addon so this part should pretty easy.

1 Like

So simple is that ?