AppDaemon locks up

I’m just getting into AppDaemon and am liking the concept very much.

What’s brought me to this is I have some sensors that are reporting very frequently (once per second) and they are filling up the log in HASS like crazy.
So I thought I’d use AppDaemon to do some smoothing and only update the sensor I will log once per minute. This I’ve got going and it works quite well.
Currently I’m running AD under a terminal under Windows 10 so I can see all the debug logs. However after some time it stops logging and no data flows. If I go back to the terminal window and press any key on my keyboard then suddenly it bursts into life and a whole load of errors are shown. For example:
2017-11-14 15:31:03.927408 WARNING Excessive time spent in scheduler loop: 7485418.0ms
2017-11-14 15:31:03.946409 WARNING Scheduler clock skew detected - delta = 7484.437695026398 - resetting
Queue size is 160, suspect thread starvation

So it seems to get stuck for some reason.

So two questions - why is it getting stuck? Maybe something to do with Windows Powershell terminal window?
And is this a valid use case for AD? Smoothing maybe 10 rapidly firing sensors to some reasonable level? Perhaps its too much although it seems the perfect place to do this. Otherwise I have to build in some smoothing somewhere else which isn’t easy given the hardware I’m using.

It’s certainly a valid usecase.

As for the lockups - I suspect this is something to do with the powershell, yes. I haven;t seen this on any other system types.

how are you listening to the sensors?

I’m using Tinkerforge sensors but HASS has no component for this so using MQTT for comms.
Made an app to listen to the ‘raw’ mqtt sensor, control the state change flow to 1 per min then publish to a new mqtt sensor for the rest of HASS to use. I’ll log the flow controlled sensor only.