Appdaemon's run_daily issue

Hi there,

I’m new to AppDaemon and Python and I’m experimenting with an App.

I want to turn my lights on slowly every morning at a set time that I can modify via the frontend.

import appdaemon.plugins.hass.hassapi as hass
from datetime import datetime

class WakeUp(hass.Hass):

def initialize(self):
     self.log("initializing wake up app")

time_str = self.get_state("input_datetime.set_wake_up_light")
     time_dt = datetime.strptime(time_str, '%H:%M:%S').time()

self.bedroom_light = self.get_entity("light.the_bedroom_light")
     self.listen_state(self.time_change, "input_datetime.set_wake_up_light")
     self.run_daily(self.wake_up_light, time_dt) 

self.log("end initialize")

def wake_up_light(self, kwargs):
     self.log("in wake up light callback now")
     self.bedroom_light.turn_on(transition = 60)

def time_change(self, entity, attribute, old, new, kwargs):
     time_str = self.get_state("input_datetime.set_wake_up_light")
     time_dt = datetime.strptime(time_str, '%H:%M:%S').time()
     self.log("wake up light time now {}".format(time_str))

I begin by getting the datetime from an input_date helper on my front end, then I convert it to a datetime time, then I both listen for changes to the datetime helper, and I set a run_daily callback to run at time_dt.

When I add

self.log(type(time_dt)

I get the output:

<class 'datetime.time'>

which seems like the correct type since I don’t get any errors from the run_daily callback like I did when I put in the full datetime.
I do not get errors in the initialize, and my time_change callback works fine, I just can’t get the run_daily callback to trigger.

Any help? What else might you need to know?

Hi, for my alarm clock this works just fine:

weckzeit = datetime.datetime.strptime(self.get_state("input_datetime.weckzeit"), "%H:%M:%S") - datetime.timedelta(minutes=30)
self._weckzeitListener = self.run_daily(self.startAufwecken, weckzeit.strftime('%H:%M:%S'))