Are my assumptions correct?

Hi al,

Because I am new to the community I am not sure I am posting in the correct category.
I’m also new to Home Automation, since I Will move into a new home starting from the 1st of may and would realy like to make it a smart one I started digging in to Home automation.

At the moment I have got some Sonoff s26 smart switches, Philips Hue lights (with hub and dimmer) and I’m planning to buy the Xiaomi Aqara Gateway including some sensors (door, movement, and so on).
I stumbled on HASS because I want these products to communicate with eachother and as far I know I would always need a program like HASS to achieve this. So my first question is this correct?
Second can I connect the sonoff s26 switches without anything like a bridge directly with HASS?

I hope you can help me since I have not had any luck finding these anwsers on the internet.

Thanks for your help!
Luukwillems

I would not buy the xiaomi hub, but zigbee2mqtt stick. Like that you do not need the philips hub nor other hub as you’ll integrate through zigbee2mqtt:

I’m not sure how sonoff integration works, but I’m sure it can be done. Just browse on the forum. Many have it.

either flash with Tasmota or with ESPHome. My vote is ESPHome.

Thanks for your help both. Is it also possible to flash klikaanklikuit (KAKU) products like you said to do with sonoff’s?

Never heard of them but they do appear in a forum search.

I think these may be controlled by RF not wifi. If so look at the RF components such as sonoff RF bridge, RFxCom or broadlink.

If I were starting over, I would select a protocol and stick with it as much as possible. HomeAssistant generally makes mixed protocols (z-Wave, Xbee, WiFi, etc) seamless to the end user, but selecting a main protocol means less configuration details to remember.
Here’s my experience, your mileage may vary. (In my opinion, if you ask 100 Home Assistant users to describe their installations, you will get 100 different opinions).