Assistance in parsing JSON

Hi! I am pretty new to HA and tried to query my Fan Control Unit for hours without success. Therefore I kindly ask for your assistance.

The unit returns something like the following when accessing http://ipadress/data/live:

[{"hours":16,"minutes":4,"day":10,"month":12,"year":2023,"temp_in":20.56,"temp_out":19.50,"hum_in":34.00,"hum_out":34.00,"abs_hum_in":6.07,"abs_hum_out":5.71,"on":0,"operating_hours":0,"message":air not dry enough}]

Firefox means it’s not a valid JSON string:

SyntaxError: JSON.parse: unexpected character at line 1 column 199 of the JSON data

I see 2 things: the square brackets at the beginning/end and the spaces in the last value (message).
However I cannot get it running.
Either no sensor is getting created when adding it to the yaml or the state stays at “unknown”.

I tried the following (and various similar ones):

- scan_interval: 30
    resource: http://ipaddress/data/live
    sensor:
     -  name: "temperature outside"
        value_template: "{{ value_json['temp_out'] }}"
        unit_of_measurement: '°C'

Probably an easy one for a more experienced user :slight_smile:
Thank you!

The root of the JSON is an array, so try

value_template: "{{ value_json[0]['temp_out'] }}"

Note however the the JSON you posted is invalid.
“message:” value needs double quotes

"message": "air not dry enough"

Hi and thanks for the reply.

I have added the [0] as you suggested but the sensor’s state is still unknown even after restarting HA.

value_template: "{{ value_json[0]['temp_out'] }}"`

I understand your explanation why the JSON is invalid, however I cannot change the device’s output so I just hoped I can use the other values at least. I was able to successfully add other device’s APIs with the same lines, however it does not work for this device :confused:

Thanks and best regards

Try this version.

value_template: "{{ value | regex_findall(find='temp_out\":(\d+.\d+)') | first | default('unknown') }}"