Assistance needed for automation - bluetooth connection sensor

Hi, I’m new to HA and would like to apologize first for my silly question below:

I’m trying to set up an automation that when my phone is connected to my car’s bluetooth HA app then send a notification. The bluetooth connection sensor in the HA app is activated. My automation yaml is below but it simply won’t work.

Any help will really be appreciated.

alias: send a notification when connected to car bluetooth
description: ""
trigger:
  - platform: state
    entity_id:
      - sensor.oppo_bluetooth_connection
    attribute: connected_paired_devices
    to: 2C:DC:AD:C5:A8:C6 (VW)
condition: []
action:
  - service: notify.mobile_app_oppo
    data:
mode: single

I have solved this with a template. State triggers would (often) not work since there may be more connected devices and the order might change also:

trigger:
  - platform: template
    value_template: "{{ '2C:DC:AD:C5:A8:C6 (VW)' in state_attr('sensor.oppo_bluetooth_connection', 'connected_paired_devices') }}"

This should work, if your mac adress is in the attribute the trigger would fire.

1 Like

It worked!

Thank you so much for your speedy reply.

My first post on this forum and resolved my problem instantly! Absolutely impressive!

Glad i could help. No matter if it is the first or the hundreds post, in this community there is always somebody who helps with your problems, i was also impressed the first time my (simple) questions were solved.
The community around home assistant is really big and great.

1 Like

First things first, if your problem is solved, it is always a nice idea to mark the corresponding post (in this case the first answer from @madface) as solution. It not only shows the appreciation for the one who helped, it also shows the thread as solved, so others can either skip (no more help needed) or look into the thread for a working solution. Thanks for that. :slight_smile: